CAC No. 160967

Our Heritage & Our Story

History of Yewa


The origin and the history of Yewa is linked to and greatly influenced by the history of lle-Ife and Oyo, the cradles of the Yoruba people. Yewa is a sub-ethnic group of the Western Region of Nigeria known as the Yorubaland.

The founder of the early settlements of kingdoms were princes, great warriors or hunters who migrated from lle- Ife, Oyo or Ketu. Essentially, the settlements were as a result of independent migration of these founders and their entourage. This was a pattern which led to Yewaland being populated by independent kingdoms and chiefdoms made up of diverse ethnic and sub-ethnic groups.

Yewaland and people had been in existence since the 13th.

After 1890 the Egbado asked for a British protectorate and got a small armed garrison. The area became part of the British Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria in 1914, as Egbado Division in Abeokuta Province.

Today, the Yewa people are mainly located on the Western part of Ogun State of Nigeria. They comprise the Ketu, the Sabe, the Ije (Ohori),Ifonyin, Anago, Eyo and Ogu (Egun),

On the Northern part of Yewaland is the Ketu sub-ethic group. Ketu towns of Ijoun, Ijaka, ljale, Egua, Igan Alade, Imeko, Owode-Ketu, Tata, llara and Idofa etc. were founded by emigrants from Ketu (founded by Alaketu and now in the Republic of Benin).

South of the Ketu are the Ije (Ohori) located in Oja-Odan, Obele, Ohunbe, Ibeku and lsale.

Further to the South of the Ohori are the Ifonyin whose main kingdoms are Ikolaje, llashe and Ifonyintedo.

To the Eastern part of Ketu, Ohori and Ifonyin are the sub groups originally referred as Egbado.  These include the people of llaro, Ibara, Ilewo, Ilogun, Imala-Aiba, lIobi, Ibese, Igbogila, Imasai, saga, Igan Okoto, Joga, Ayetoro, Idofoyi, Tibo, Keesan, Oke-Odan, Erinja and Ajilete, among others.

South of the Egbado are the Awori who settled in towns such as Ota, Ado-Odo and Igbesa. West of the Awori are the Anago interspersed by the Eyo who settled in Ipokia, Agosasa, Ijofin, Ibatefin and Ihunbo.

To the south of the Awori and Anago are the Ogu (Egun) largely concentrated in and around Badagry. The Egun have intermarried with the Aworis, Anagos and Egbado and their main settlements are Ipokia, Tube and Maun.

All these sub-ethnic groups were formerly administratively grouped as the Egbado Division of Abeokuta Province in the closing years of British Colonial Rule in Nigeria. Over the years however, the area has been divided into various numbers of councils.

Today, the Yewas in Nigeria are mainly located in the Ado-Odo Ota Local Government, Ipokia Local Government, Yewa South Local Government, Yewa North Local Government, Imeko- Afon Local Government, and Abeokuta North Local Government areas of Ogun State.


In 1985, the Yewa people, formerly referred to as Egbado, resolved to change their names from Egbado to Yewa after the name of the Yewa River that passes through the area they inhabit.

The change was motivated by:-

  1. The need to tackle an identity problem of correcting a double misnomer that had applied to the wider multi ethnic area and the particular sub groups formerly labeled as “EGBADO”.
  2. The need for self-determination of the entire people who not only share cultural but also geographical affinity over the Yewa River to explore new grounds for Unity and Progress.
  1. The conference of Egbado Obas, on the 24th day of November 1994, resolved that the name Egbado be changed to Yewa.
  2. The Egbado Traditional Council on the 28 day of February 1996 resolved that Egbado Tradition Council be referred to as Yewa Traditional Council.

On 10th day of December 1997, by the Gazette number 51 dated 18 December 1997 of the Ogun State Government, the name Egbado was changed to YEWA


Yewa Land borders Lagos to the South, Oyo State to the North while its close location to the international Border of Nigeria and Republic of Benin in its Western border has considerable effect on international commercial activities.


The Yewa community is a unique people, a multi-ethnic, multicultural diverse sub ethnic group with an estimated population figure of 1.8 million people spread across the present day five local governments of Yewa South, Yewa North, Imeko-Afon, Ipokia and some communities in the present Ado-Odo Ota and Abeokuta North local governments areas of Ogun State in Nigeria.

The Yewa people could also be found in large and appreciable numbers in the Republic of Benin, the Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba, Brazil, the United Kingdoms and Ireland and the United States of America.

Like other communities across the globe and despites its multicultural orientation, the Yewa community has a relatively good history of peaceful co-existence among its people and neighbors. This is because of its well-coordinated community relations and high respect for native authority resident in the Obaship Institution which plays significant roles in native administration, native laws, peace and security including societal norm and values.

A typical Yewa man is a symbol of a prototypical personality and a good example of Omoluwabi.

The Yewa people in the contemporary history are predominantly farmers and traders largely found in the western part of Ogun State, Nigeria. The large expanse of Yewa fertile land also has large deposit of mineral resources for industrial potentials.

Although, this aspiration are largely being realized, it is hoped that Yewa people and their land will by the grace of God and the Goodwill of mankind get its fair share in the scheme of things in Ogun State in particular and Nigeria in General.