

# YEWA PEOPLE DEVELOPMENT COUNCIL (YPDC)

2 COMMUNITY BANK ROAD, ILARO, OGUNSTATE NIGERIA +2348037152480, +2348022900555

The Honourable Speaker,

13 July, 2022

Distinguished Members of the Ogun State House of Assembly

Ogun State House of Assembly

Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

Dear Sir,

# MEMO ON THE EDITION OF THE NAMES OF LOCAL GOVERNMENTS IN THE 1999 CONSTITUTION OF THE FEDERAL REPULIC OF NIGERIA EGBADO BE EDITED TO YEWA

## INTRODUCTION

Yewa People Development Council (YPDC) is a creation of the Yewa Traditional Council headed by His Royal Highness Oba Kehinde Gbadewole Olugbenle MFR, The Olu of Ilaro and the Paramount Ruler of Yewaland, as the body responsible for the coordination of the development and progress of the entire Yewaland at the community self-help level, in which Ilaro is the headquarters and one of the major towns.

YPDC is a not for profit organization whose purpose in general is to prevent social exclusion and promote social inclusion and community strengthening through supporting, developing and promoting UNITY within and among YEWA communities and YEWA based community managed organisations.

In response to the call for memorandum on the amendment of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Government of Nigeria, we on behalf of the entire Yewa people, hereby submit our desire, request and prayer.

**CAC RN 160967** 

#### **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

HRM OBA KEHINDE OLUGBENLE HRM OBA OLANITE BENJAMIN ALABI PROF. RAHAMON BELLO CHIEF (MRS) MAUTIN JANET BOYA HRM OBA LANIYAN YISA SOLA HRM OBA DOSUNMU MICHAEL ADELEYE DR. (MRS) AKINKUROLERE OLUFUNKE MR. FAKEYE ADEKUNLE ABEL HRM OBA AJIBADE SALIU ADEDOKUN HRM OBA AKANNI ABDULATEEF PASTOR AKINOLA BAMIDELE

WWW.YEWAPDC.COM
YEWADEVELOPMENT@YAHOO.COM



#### **BACKGROUND**

On the 24<sup>th</sup> November, 1994, the Yewa people of Ogun State, then known as the "Egbado" people, met under the aegis of the "Conference of Egbado Obas", launched the book titled "The Birth of Yewaland" by Asiwaju, A. I. and resolved that the area then referred to as "Egbado" be renamed "Yewa". Subsequently, the then "Egbado Traditional Council" and all the public and private institutions whose name included the word "Egbado" replaced this with "Yewa". Examples are: Yewa Traditional Council; Yewa College, Ilaro: Yewa High School, Igbogila: Yewa Diocese.

Ogun State Government endorsed this through the Extraordinary Gazette Vol 22, No. 51 of 18<sup>th</sup> December 1997 (copy attached), which declared that "Notice is hereby given to the general public that the Military Administrator-in-Council has on 10<sup>th</sup> day of December, 1997 approved the change in the name of the area formerly known as Egbado in Ogun State to be known as YEWA".

#### **ISSUE AT HAND**

When the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria was drafted, the gazetted change in the name was not made to reflect in the names of the two Local Governments in the area. These are: Egbado North Local Government and Egbado South Local Government. These were left in the Constitution as they were instead of being referred to as Yewa North Local Government and Yewa South Local Government, respectively.

Since, the coming into use of the 1999 Constitution, the edition of the names to reflect the wish of the people as has been gazetted, has not been effected and is being lumped with Constitutional amendment.

### **PRAYER**

Our prayer is for the edition of the names of the two Local Governments as appears in the Part 1 of the First Schedule in the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 under Ogun as follows:



- a) 'Egbado North' to be rewritten as "Yewa North"
- b) "Egbado South" to be rewritten as "Yewa South"

This is in line with the wishes of the people of the Local Governments as gazetted by Ogun State Government in 1997, which is hereby attached.

We please plead with the Honourable House to concur to the bill of the National Assembly to modify First Schedule, Section 3, Part 1 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to reflect the change in the name of two Local Government Areas as listed in the 20 Local Government Areas of Ogun State, to wit: Egbado South to Yewa South and Egbado North to Yewa North.

Mr Speaker, Members of the House, we thank you for your esteemed positive action.

Long Live, Ogun State.

Long Live, Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Thank you.

Professor Rahamon Bello

Chairman

08022900555

radebello@yahoo.com

FOR DEVELOP

Obafemi Akinola

Secretary

08037152480

akinolafm@yahoo.com